My Purple Fingers

17 May

A day without creating is wasted…..

Right now I am typing with two purple fingers and for some reason that brings me sense of joy. For the last three years

Summer photo shoot 2011

(I guess you can say its a tradition now) I do a summer photo shoot for my children. This year, I was anticipating it because I wanted it to be more than them standing next to a tree, next to a rock. Smile, flash, click. I’m not really interested in them playing dress up either. My goal is to catch their personalities at that particular moment in time. But I have to admit, this year i have delusions of grandeur.  I have a theme.  For my little lady.  I picked Whimsy…over the top, sick to your stomach pink. Not Nicki Manaj oh my god where are her arms and what’s wrong with her legs Pink Friday goofiness. Just Butterflies, tulle lots of pink and an 11-year-old girl who loves having her picture taken.

The reason it makes me so happy to be sitting here with purple fingers is because it’s an affirmation for me. By the way the reason they are purple is because I just finished putting a temporary hair color in her hair and my finger poked through the glove. The color is for the photo shoot but she gets to wear it to school and feel a little edgy and cool for a bit, until its time to wash it out anyway. She is super excited for the photo shoot tomorrow and so am I. Seeing my purple fingers is an acknowledgement to myself that I have finally accepted my artistic side. For some reason, I tried to hide it. I didn’t want to acknowledge it. I thought I would be happy in a cubicle in corporate America . I thought that side of me could be placated with an occasional poem or trip to Jo-ann fabric. Now I finally realize that I’m not just a person that dabbles in a little of this and a little of this. I’m an artist. Me…Tammy *giggle* I shine brightest when I am allowed to be myself. A girl blogging about how her purple fingers made her smile. An artist.

I’ll share picture soon :)

3 Responses to “My Purple Fingers”

  1. Ayasonice May 17, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Is that your daughter in that photo? She’s very pretty! :)

    • tmike4true May 17, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      That is my little lady :) thank you!

  2. Todd Burchett May 29, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    I would appreciate a photo of said purple finger. Otherwise, I find this story to be highly suspicious. A purple finger bringing joy? LOL. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!! Still want to see the purple finger though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

